Foam Roller Cleaning and Storage


Photo credit: Trevor Raab

Now that you invested in a foam roller, how do you take care of it so it continues to take care of you?

Cleaning

I recommend using a damp cloth with mildly soapy water to wipe your foam roller and let it air dry. Personally, I like to use Dr. Bronner’s castile soap and dilute it with water. Follow the diluting directions on the bottle. Personally, I put this solution in a squirt bottle and keep it on hand to use as a mild cleaning solution for fitness and household items. I’ve also used eco-friendly wipes (e.g., Seventh Generation) to wipe it down. I do not recommend cleaning your foam roller with any harsh chemicals, because it my alter the texture of the foam roller.

Storage

Avoid storage at extreme temperatures (above 90 degrees and below 32 degrees) and keep it out of direct sunlight. Store in a ventilated area so it can dry out from use and after cleaning.

For those of you with infants and pets, I recommend storing your foam roller in a location your child or pet cannot reach it. Disregard if you purposefully purchased a foam roller for your child or pet. (smile)

Related blog posts:

To Foam Roll or Not to Foam Roll, that IS the question…

Roll, Release, and Recover: A Foam Rolling Workshop

Leave a comment